System Of A Down Discography
Intro text, can be displayed through an additional field

System Of A Down Discography

System Of A Down is a renowned American rock band that has created a unique and captivating discography over the years. With their distinct sound and thought-provoking lyrics, System Of A Down has gained a massive fan following worldwide. In this article, we will delve into their discography, exploring their albums and the impact they have made in the music industry.

1. System Of A Down (1998)

The self-titled debut album "System Of A Down" was released in 1998 and proved to be a groundbreaking record. With a fusion of alternative metal, hard rock, and experimental sounds, System Of A Down introduced themselves as a force to be reckoned with. The album featured hits like "Sugar," "Spiders," and "War?" that showcased their ability to tackle social and political issues with their music.

Album Highlights:

  • "Sugar" - A powerful track that addresses the addictive nature of materialism.
  • "Spiders" - A haunting song that explores the feeling of being trapped in the world's web of deceit.
  • "War?" - An intense anthem that questions the motives behind war and violence.

2. Toxicity (2001)

Following their successful debut, System Of A Down released "Toxicity" in 2001, which elevated their status to new heights. This album showcased their musical growth and lyrical prowess, addressing various societal issues. With tracks like "Chop Suey!," "Aerials," and "Toxicity," System Of A Down captured the attention of a wider audience and became a household name in the rock genre.

Album Highlights:

  • "Chop Suey!" - A rebellious anthem that encourages questioning authority and societal norms.
  • "Aerials" - A melodic track that explores the concept of escapism and the desire for freedom.
  • "Toxicity" - A powerful song that criticizes the toxicity of modern society.

3. Steal This Album! (2002)

In 2002, System Of A Down released "Steal This Album!," an unconventional and experimental compilation of unreleased tracks. The album's title itself was a nod to activist Abbie Hoffman's book "Steal This Book." With tracks like "Innervision," "Boom!," and "Ego Brain," System Of A Down continued to push boundaries and challenge the status quo.

Album Highlights:

  • "Innervision" - A reflective song that delves into self-discovery and introspection.
  • "Boom!" - A politically charged track that criticizes the military-industrial complex.
  • "Ego Brain" - A thought-provoking song that examines the human ego and its impact on society.

4. Mezmerize (2005)

"Mezmerize" was released in 2005 as the first part of a double album, followed by "Hypnotize" in the same year. This album showcased System Of A Down's versatility, incorporating elements of punk rock, progressive rock, and even pop influences. With tracks like "B.Y.O.B.," "Question!," and "Sad Statue," System Of A Down continued to captivate listeners with their dynamic sound and thought-provoking lyrics.

Album Highlights:

  • "B.Y.O.B." - A politically charged anthem that criticizes the Iraq War and the hypocrisy of war propaganda.
  • "Question!" - A philosophical track that explores the nature of existence and the pursuit of knowledge.
  • "Sad Statue" - A melancholic song that reflects on the state of the world and the loss of innocence.

5. Hypnotize (2005)

Released as the second part of the double album, "Hypnotize" showcased System Of A Down's ability to experiment with different genres while maintaining their signature sound. With tracks like "Lonely Day," "Kill Rock 'n Roll," and "Hypnotize," the band continued to push boundaries and create music that resonated with their audience.

Album Highlights:

  • "Lonely Day" - A poignant ballad that explores feelings of isolation and longing.
  • "Kill Rock 'n Roll" - A rebellious track that challenges the music industry and its commercialization.
  • "Hypnotize" - A high-energy song that captivates listeners with its infectious rhythm and catchy hooks.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. How many albums does System Of A Down have?

System Of A Down has released five studio albums to date.

2. What are some of System Of A Down's most popular songs?

Some of System Of A Down's most popular songs include "Chop Suey!," "Toxicity," "B.Y.O.B.," and "Lonely Day."

3. Has System Of A Down won any awards?

Yes, System Of A Down has received numerous awards, including a Grammy Award for Best Hard Rock Performance for their song "B.Y.O.B."


System Of A Down's discography is a testament to their artistic brilliance and their ability to address important social and political issues through their music. With their unique sound and thought-provoking lyrics, System Of A Down has left an indelible mark on the music industry. Their albums, including their self-titled debut, "Toxicity," "Steal This Album!," "Mezmerize," and "Hypnotize," continue to resonate with fans around the world. System Of A Down's contribution to the rock genre is unparalleled, and their discography is a must-listen for any music enthusiast.

Related video of System Of A Down Discography

Noticed oshYwhat?
Highlight text and click Ctrl+Enter
We are in
Otaewns » Press » System Of A Down Discography